As communicated by Ministry of Finance, 5 more states will be rolling out E-way bill from tomorrow.  Previously intra-state E-way bill has been rolled out in twelve states. Now introducing it further in five states make the total count of states to have an intra-state e-way bill to seventeen. List of all the states having an intra-state E-way bill is now as follows:

States for which e-way bill was previously announced:

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Gujarat
  3. Kerala
  4. Telangana
  5. Uttar Pradesh
  6. Bihar
  7. Jharkhand
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Tripura
  11. Uttarakhand
  12. Karnataka


States for which e-way bill has been announced lately:

  1. Arunachal Pradesh
  2. Madhya Pradesh
  3. Meghalaya
  4. Sikkim
  5. Puducherry

Also, Intra-state E-way bill will be applicable in Maharashtra from May 1, 2018. So, in total 18 states till date are ready with their E-way bill system out of which in twelve states it has already been implemented, in other five states shall be applicable from 25 April 2018 and in Maharashtra from the beginning of May.

The press release made on 23rd April as per which five states will roll out intrastate e-way bills from April 25 reads as follows:

As per the decision of the GST Council, e-Way Bill system for  Inter-State movement of goods has been rolled – out from 01st April, 2018. As on 20th April, 2018, e-Way Bill system for  Intra-State movement of goods has been rolled-out in the States of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.  E-Way Bills are getting generated successfully and till 22ndApril, 2018 more than one crore eighty four lakh e-Way Bills have been successfully generated which includes more than twenty two lakh e-Way Bills for  Intra-State movement of Goods.

It is hereby informed that e-Way Bill system for  Intra-State movement of goods would be implemented from 25th April, 2018 in the following States/ Union Territory:-


(i)            Arunachal Pradesh

(ii)          Madhya Pradesh

(iii)         Meghalaya

(iv)         Sikkim

(v)          Puducherry


With the roll-out of e-Way Bill system in these States / Union Territory, it is expected that trade and industry will be further facilitated insofar as the transport of goods is concerned, thereby eventually paving the way for a nation-wide single e-Way Bill system. Trade and industry and transporters located in these States/Union Territory may obtain registration /enrollment on e-Way Bill portal namely at the earliest without waiting for the last date.

Posted On: 23 APR 2018 5:38PM by PIB Delhi